Wednesday, 22nd November, 2017

Sanskrit enthusiasts outraged as media reports just 4 and not 36 MPs taking oath in Sanskrit

11, Jun 2014 By kruthika

The second day of the first session of the 16th Lok Sabha saw a display of the cultural diversity that makes India unique. MPs came dressed in their traditional attire and took oath in various languages /dialects.

36 MPs took oath in Sanskrit. This is the first time ever that so many MPs who took oath in Sanskrit. Over the last several weeks, social media was abuzz with appeals to MPs to take oath in Sanskrit. Over ten lakh people signed an online petition requesting Modi to take oath in Sanskrit. Inside circle say that Modi chose not to take oath in Sanskrit this time as media may paint it as a communal move.

Nonetheless, Sanskrit enthusiast were excited as their efforts did not go in vain as 36 MPs heeded to their request. Sanskrit was trending on Twitter for the first time. They are outraged that media reported names of only 4 MPs – Sushma Swaraj, Uma Bharathi , Harsh Varadhan and Ashwini Kumar Choubey as doing so. Sanskrit enthusiasts across the country have planned to organize a “Samskrit Jagrati Mahotsav” to felicitate and thank the MPs that took oath in Sanskrit . They also wanted to create awareness among people about how popular media downplays incidents that may inspire young minds into Indianization / Sanskritization.

The 36 MPs that took oath in Sanskrit were : Murali Manohar Joshi, Sushma Swaraj, Uma Bharathi, Sumitra Mahajan, Om Prakash Yadav, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Dr. Harsh Varadhan, Mahesh Giri,Meenakshi Lekhi, Pravesh Sharma, Shantha Kumar, Anurag Thakur, Sunil Kumar Singh, Rakesh Singh, Dilipkumar Gandhi, Sumedhanand Saraswati,Ramachandra Bohra,Chandraprakash Joshi,BC Khanduri, Rajendra Agarwal,Dr.Satyapal Singh, Dr.Mahesh Chandra Sharma, Dr. Sakshi Maharaj, Pushpendra Singh Chandel, Keshav Prasad Maurya, Ramshankar Katheria, Daddan Mishra,Sharad Tripathi,Yogi Adityanath,Guddu (alias) Rajesh Pandey, Bharat Singh, Mahendra Nath Pandey,Chhote Lal Kharwar,S. S. Ahluwalia,Gajendra Singh Shekhawat and Bhagat Singh Koshyari.